giordano, jMy name is Janelle Giordano. I am a senior at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, TX. I am majoring in Journalism and minoring in Sport Management.  I will be graduating in May of 2017.

I am currently the Co-Managing Editor for The Daily Update, SMU-TV’s daily newscast.  I work alongside other editors to research and assign content every day for the show.

I was the Assignments Editor for The Daily Campus, SMU’s campus newspaper, during the fall semester of 2016.  I worked closely with the Editor-in-Chief to assign, edit and publish content for the paper.

I was the host of “Sports Spotlight,” SMU-TV’s sports segment, for 2016.  I shot and edited video footage and wrote game recaps for all SMU teams in competition.

I recently exhausted my NCAA eligibility on the SMU Volleyball team.  The responsibilities that I held for my team and the program occupied the majority of my spare time.  I played volleyball for 10 years and learned a great deal from my coaches and teammates along the way.  My role as a student-athlete has taught me how to be a team player, how to stay organized, and how to overcome adversity.  I am very competitive and passionate about everything I do.  I have very good time management skills and work well with other people.  The pressure on the court has also taught me how to perform in demanding situations.

My goal for the future is to work in a corporate setting where my communication, organization, presentation and public speaking skills can best be utilized to disseminate important information and enhance both the external and internal perception of a company.

Leave a Reply

